Getting In The Frame

I’m challenging myself not only to shoot every day in 2017 but to get in the frame at least once a week. Over the years I’ve taken photos of birthdays, holidays, celebrations, and family adventures. If you didn’t know any better you wouldn’t think I was there because I’m not in many if any at all. My oldest asks where I was for many of the photos that were taken in her early years. I realized that I’ve removed myself from the frame for far too long.

This year I’m not waiting to lose weight, I’m not worried about how my skin looks, I don’t care if my outfit isn’t on point, and I’m not going to fixate on my flaws. I’m going to have a record of the moments that will later become memories because one day when I’m old and later when I’m gone, there will be nothing my family treasures more than the photos remaining of me. They won’t look back and say it was fun but too bad I was overweight. They won’t tell their children of the time we had so much fun on that trip but my thighs rubbed together.

No one is thinking of those things but me, and not even me anymore! I’ve done the internal work, embraced myself for who I am, and decided it’s more important to really live than to watch life from the other side of the lens. So here’s to celebrating myself and beginning a 52-week journey of getting in the frame! I encourage you to push yourself out of your comfort zone and take a step out of it as well!

self-portrait

Something fun came out of this! I’ve never created images with this look and I’m loving the playful window light coupled with the shadows.


What are your thoughts? How are you going to challenge yourself this year? Feel free to share in the comments! ❤

Check out the full challenge here!

Feel free to share your thoughts <3

