Sunset Dance

I’ve been wanting to do a photo session with my mom for some time. The opportunity presented itself recently and I have to say I’m incredibly pleased with the results! My mom isn’t one to take pictures often. When she does she gets shy and nervous in front of the camera (on the phone). I wasn’t sure what to expect going into the session but since there’s no one I know better than her, I wasn’t worried. I had a few ideas to get her to loosen up in front of the camera. It’s the first time I pulled the big camera out and didn’t want her to be intimidated.

We were in the area, so we stopped at a campground in Williams, Arizona that had a lake. I scoped out the area as she got ready and loved that there were so many scenes in such close proximity! I found the light and had her sit where the sun was best as it did its dance in the sunset hour. One thing I know about my mom is how calm and peaceful she feels by the water. I softly hummed a song and gave her minimal direction just encouraging her to enjoy the sunlight and scenery. I used my 70-300mm lens so I was able to give her some space and not feel like she had this huge camera in her face. She felt very comfortable in the grass by the lake and it definitely showed in the photos!

Here’s a peek at some of my favorites which I’ll admit, I had a hard time choosing!

edited DSC_0306

PicMonkey Collage1

edited DSC_0378

PicMonkey Collage2

edited DSC_0355


What do you think? Where would you feel most relaxed for an outdoor photo session? Feel free to share in the comments!

Feel free to share your thoughts <3

